Montcalm County Sheriff’s Office
659 N. State Street, Stanton MI 48888
IF YOU HAVE A PREVIOUSLY ISSUED PURCHASE PERMIT/SALES RECORD PLEASE MAIL TO:
MCSO, 659 N. STATE STREET, STANTON, MI 48888.
PURCHASE PERMIT ISSUANCES (LTP) No appointment is necessary; HOURS ARE MONDAY THRU FRIDAY 9:00 A.M. - 11:00 A.M. AND 1:30 P.M. - 3:30 P.M. Note: An individual may apply for a License to Purchase a Pistol (LTP) at any police agency in the state that issues License to Purchase Forms.
IF YOU ARE BUYING/ACQUIRING A HANDGUN FROM AN INDIVIDUAL: (and you do not have a Concealed Pistol License):
You will need a Purchase Permit (LTP): There is a $5.00 Notary fee for each Purchase Permit. You have 30 days to purchase a handgun with a Purchase Permit. The Buyer and Seller fill out and sign all 3 forms. The Seller keeps one form. The Buyer keeps one form. Within 10 days of purchase, the buyer must mail or bring the other form (the MSP/Agency copy) to: MCSO, 659 N. State Street, Stanton, MI 48888.
IF YOU ARE BUYING A HANDGUN FROM A FEDERAL FIREARM LICENSED (FFL) DEALER or Store: (Sporting Goods store, Gun Shop, etc.)
You DO NOT need a Purchase Permit issued by the Sheriff's Office. A Pistol Sales Record (RI-060)(available from the FFL Dealer or Store) can be used to purchase a handgun. The Buyer and Dealer/Seller fill out and sign all 3 forms. The Dealer (Seller) keeps one copy The Buyer keeps one copy (this form is your Gun Registration). Within 10 days of purchase, the Buyer must mail or bring the Registry (MSP/Agency) copy to: MCSO, 659 North State Street, Stanton, MI 48888.
IF YOU HAVE A CONCEALED PISTOL LICENSE: (CPL) You do NOT need a Purchase Permit. A Pistol Sales Record (RI-060) can be used to purchase a handgun from an individual. (https://www.michigan.gov/documents/msp/ri-060_696761_7.pdf). The Buyer and Seller fill out and sign all 3 forms. The Seller keeps one form. The Buyer keeps one form - this form is your Gun Registration.
On March 3, 2020, the United States Department of Justice Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) determined that the Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) no longer qualifies as a National Instant Criminal Background Check (NICS) alternative permit for possessing and transporting firearms.
Michigan CPL-holders who purchase firearms from or through a federally licensed firearms dealer (FFL) should expect to undergo a NICS background check through the FFL, as required by federal law. Questions regarding the NICS background check should be directed to the Federal Bureau of Investigation NICS Section at 1-877-FBI-NICS (877-324-6427).
All of the above licenses you must carry your copy with you for 30 days after purchasing the gun, if in possession of the gun. After that time, you are not required to have the license with you.